um.

I had a new yoga-friend.  It’s complicated of course, but suffice to say that we were new friends who took a yoga class together and then decided we’re much better at coffee and the other thing we do together that isn’t at all what you’re thinking.

Anyway, after that first class, I texted him a time or two to ask if he wanted to take another, but he kept saying he was busy (mhmm…), and when I saw him next, he made what I believe to be the greatest confession ever.  And I know whereof I speak.  I offer this mostly verbatim, because you simply can’t make these things up.  Well, I can’t.  Usually.

Anyway:

He:  “So about yoga…”
Me:  “Mhmm…”
He:  “I kind of have this little issue…”
Me:  “You don’t like the chanting.”

(A note:  it’s a serious yoga studio and they do chant a bit.  At the novice level it’s simple enough:  an “om” here and a “shanti” there. But as one who has inadvertently made an art form of butchering perfectly innocent languages (my headache-inducing Danish or my Turkish-with-a-lisp, for which you’ll have to read the Farrokh installments, darling) I try to take care.  Plus, if I’m not 100% sure what I’m saying…well, I’m certainly not going to say it.  Usually.

But back to “om”.  Whatever it actually does or doesn’t mean, I think it’s rather straight forward, and “shanti” seems to be along the lines of “peace”.  So I’m good with that.)

But he is not.  And I’ve digressed.

He:  “Well, I don’t like the chanting…”
Me:  “I knew it!”
He:  “But what really bothered me–promise you won’t think I’m horrible…”
Me:  “I already think you’re horrible.”
He:  “Uh!  Anyway, someone was chanting off key.”
Me:  (blinking)
He:
  “And so I tried to harmonize, but this person was so off key that I couldn’t even find a way to make that work.  And then I was horrified that you might think was the one who was off key–which at that point I probably was–and that made me gasp out loud and that was awful, not to mention out of place, and at that point the entire thing became so traumatic and I was so stressed…”
Me:  “And now you can’t go back.”
He:  “Thank you.”

We offer myriad excuses for the things we choose not to do.  But rarely do we have such clarity of reason.  I really do adore him.

..

About sherchez

A busy little dilettante: obsessive, sensualist, Chicagoan, Odensian, wanna-be Berliner. Designer, lover, traveler, ex, mother, sister, daughter, ex. Maker of thin lines, teller of stories, patron of the stage, collector of words I can’t pronounce in languages I don’t know. Occasional blonde and owner of dubious sanity. In a world that now seems too twisted for words, I seek diversion in this ivory tower. That’s my bicycle. And I need to ride.

so what do you think?